Summer Ready Face | Long Lasting Make Up

Summer is in full swing and I’ve had a make up shake up! I struggle with keeping products on my face at the best of times and with the addition of the hot weather and amped up air conditioning I’ve had to perfect my every day face to ensure it lasts as long as possible.

Step one is priming the skin. As always I thoroughly cleanse and moisturise before applying make up, I avoid overloading my face with too many skincare products pre-make up as I find this can make my already oil prone skin slipperier than it needs to be.

My all time favourite long lasting primer gets applied first, I take a large pea sized amount of the MUA Pro-Base Primer and cover my entire face and neck. I use this all year round when I want to increase the longevity of my base make up, it’s been a staple in my make up bag for years and years.

I then take Benefit’s Porefessional and apply a small amount on my nose, cheeks, chin, and forehead. I concentrate on the areas with large pores as this silicone based primer acts as a filler, and an all day oil blot.

The star of the show is this amazing find from Essence. With a beauty blender, I apply All About Matt! foundation in thin, light layers and gradually build up. This foundation it completely matte without making the skin appear flat and dull, and lasts all day. I think I’m going to do a complete review on it soon.

10432116_10153133824883668_2373464067839546490_n

My face – after said priming and foundationing

Next step is brows. I like to keep my brow routine as simple as possible when the weather is hot, I don’t really want them sliding down my face. I brush them through with a spooley and enhance the shape with Soap and Glory’s Archery in the shade Brownie Points. A quick coating of L’Oreal’s Brow Artist Plumper in Transparent keeps them in place and defines each and every hair.

11402778_10153133824878668_3356538907934534504_n

Step three is the eyeballs. Well, eyelids. Priming the lids is absolutely key during the summer. I use the good old Urban Decay Primer Potion in the Original formula and shade. Just a teeny tiny amount to ensure the whole lid is primed and ready for shadow. To avoid over loading a soon to be hot and sweaty face I tend to stick to a minimal amount of colours. This duo packaged 3D Eyeshadow in 04 Irresistible Caramel Cream from Essence, is the perfect product for this look. The lighter shade can be used as a highlight on the brow bone and inner corner and the bronzey-brown colour is ideal for all over the lid. Two colours, two brushes, sorted!

I then go in with *deep breathe* the greatest liner I’ve ever used. Maybelline’s Master Drama Cream Eyeliner Pencil in the shade dark brown gets swiped across my top lash line and half way along my bottom lash line. Roughly smudge the liner into the bottom lashes with my finger and I’m done. The reason this liner is so good is down to the texture, it’s a gel formula in pencil form, making it super easy to draw neat looking lines. Being a gel formula it stays put all freaking day!

11694876_10153133824963668_7149248905682559685_n

Minus the mascara – I decided to save that ’til last!

Concealer time! And this is another fantastic way to make things last that little bit longer whilst the weather is in full swing of summer. At the moment I’m testing out Trick & Treatment Dark Circle Concealer from Soap and Glory, I swipe a generous amount of concealer in a V shape, using the outer corners of my eyes as the top points of the V and head downwards to my cheeks, as far down as I feel I need my redness concealing and my face highlighted. I blend all of the concealer in using a damp beauty blender. I use it slightly damp (sprayed with some sort of facial spritz) to ensure the product is sheer and distributed evenly.

I then go in with a generous amount of loose powder, applied with a generic cheap make up sponge. I let it sit on the skin for a brief moment before ensuring it is all blended in. The powder I have on the go at the moment is the Vichy Dermablend Setting Powder. This white powder ensures the concealer is locked in and prevents creasing. There is an SPF of 30 in this particular powder so can cause major flashback when using flash photography, not necessarily a bad thing as it really highlights the under eye area!

11666321_10153133825083668_7842026789429687420_n

Top photo: concealer applied. Bottom photo: powder applied but not blended

11695881_10153133825093668_8615243504408625333_n

Still looking like a bald baby minus the mascara

Step five is to add some life! My favourite bronzer for the last 2 years has been Honey Bronze Bronzing Powder from The Body Shop. Here I’m using shade 2 around the perimeter of my face, mainly focusing on my temples.

KIKO Glow Blush & Highlight has been discontinued since taking these photos but you get the idea, a creamy blush/highlight hybrid is perfect to give your skin some radiance and ensure the summer sun reflects off your face in all the right places. I tend to apply products like this on my cheeks bones, down the bridge of my nose, above the middle of my brows and on my chin.

If needs be I’ll sweep some Rimmel Stay Matte translucent pressed powder on my usual oily spots, and then throw this into my handbag with a duo fibre face brush for any touch ups throughout the day.

11695885_10153133825108668_2352240231870136689_n

Last but not least I apply coat after coat of my current favourite mascara, Bourjois Volume 1 Seconde, on both my top and bottom lashes. Usually I’d go for a waterproof formula this time of year to minimise the chance of it flaking down my face but this mascara is really working wonders lately.

Then on to a slightly tinted and very juicy lip gloss, this is Chanel’s Levres Scintillantes Glossimer Ultra in the shade 192 Fleur D’eau.

And there you have my go to summer face. Long lasting and fuss free!


3 thoughts on “Summer Ready Face | Long Lasting Make Up

Leave a Reply

